Hi! This is my very first post as an *official* intern. Please check out my “about” page for more details. In way of introduction, I’m going to post my financial support letter in this first post. If you feel that you’re able to give or have any questions, please shoot me an email! I’d love to hear from you.

Dear Friends and Family,

I hope this letter finds you all well. As most of you know, my family moved to Charlotte about this time last year; I was immediately drawn to and immersed in CrossWay’s college ministry, Mission 28 (M28). M28 is an outreach ministry that functions primarily as an evangelistic ministry and exists for the purpose of spreading the Gospel on the campus of UNC Charlotte and pointing students to the central role of the local church in their faith. Early on, I felt that it was a wonderfully practical area where I could serve, so I joined the Leadership Team last fall and have enjoyed serving in weekly Open Discussions (ODs). This not only pushed me out of my comfort zone, but revealed my desire to serve in greater ways within M28.

Throughout the school year, God has been doing quite a work in my heart. I found myself weighed down by the depth of my sins; more aware of my failures and weaknesses than God’s presence in my life. I wasn’t depressed but it was bogging me down. Affecting my days. I allowed my eyes to remain on my lowly state. allowed what I could see of my circumstances to govern my thoughts concerning God. But He is a gracious God and gently revealed Himself to me, giving me a taste of how great He is. “Let me decrease that you would increase all the more” is my daily plea. I have seen the Lord working in my heart, giving me a burden for the lost on campus, a vision for this ministry, and a passion to share the glorious Gospel. 

It is my joy to share with you that I will be serving full-time as a M28 campus intern this upcoming academic year (fall ‘10 – spring ‘11) through CrossWay. As an intern, I’ll be employed by the church and required to work 50 hours a week. I will be on campus almost daily reaching out to and befriending students, serving in a weekly OD that meets in the dorms on campus that seek to draw out students, learn what they believe, and bring a biblical perspective to life. I will also help with planning and administrating the weekly outreach meetings, numerous outreach events, and our annual spring break conference, Rekindle. Interning for M28 will allow me to interact and build friendships with these students for the purpose of sharing the Gospel and seeing lives transformed, as well as providing those already in M28 with an even greater vision for spreading the Gospel with their fellow students.

As an intern, my salary will be based solely on the generous financial support of others. This means that I will need to raise a total of $10,000. I am confident that this is where God has called me and therefore am in complete faith that he will provide the financial support I need for the coming year. Would you prayerfully consider partnering with Mission 28 and CrossWay as you help support me financially in spreading the Gospel of to the campus of UNC Charlotte? Whether you are able to give a one-time gift or a monthly pledge, your financial support will enable me to put my full attention on serving the Lord in this way. All checks should be made payable to CrossWay Community Church (with “Intern Support Fund – Cait Butt” in the memo) in order to receive the proper tax deduction. Please note that CrossWay has full discretion over all monies that go into this fund and they could decide to use that money for other M28 intern related purposes. If you desire to support my this year or if you have any questions, please let me know! You can email me (cait.elizabeth64@gmail.com) or phone me (919.616.7983); I would love to talk to you and answer any questions you may have.

If you’d like to know more about M28, please visit our website, http://www.mission28.com. And whether or not you can support me financially, please pray for me. I am so aware of my weakness and my daily need for God’s grace. Pray that God would work through Mission 28 and, through me, to change lives through the Gospel, to the glory of God. If you’d like a more specific list of prayer requests, shoot me an email. I earnestly covet your prayers.

I appreciate your time and your prayerful consideration.

Soli Deo Gloria.

Cait Butt

Today, I met with Anna and Rannon to learn how to format, print, assemble, and mail out our support letters. I’ll admit, it was a little bit nerve wracking. It’s a lot of money I have to raise. I’m not nervous because it was anything huge and dramatic is and of itself, just the independence of it all; the realization that I’ll have to be completely self-motivated instead of relying on others to get things done. This is a very good thing to realize now, before the school year, and thus, interning, gets underway. Perhaps I can prepare for it, strengthen my weaknesses. At least, I’ll be aware of it.

It’s going to be a tough year. Not because I’ll be in constant contact with difficult people, or because I’m not going to get as much sleep as I’m accustomed, but because I’ll be staring my sin in the face, all year. I know this year will be marked by growth but it’s the pruning stage of growth, not the flowering stage. The Lord has a lot to cut away and reshape before the fruit comes. Nontheless, I am very excited to see what He has in store.

I’ll be posting rather frequently, as I begin this exciting new journey into internship. Stay tuned!

Cait.

